Matlabas Banner New





Site navigation:

You are here:

 Welcome / Home / About us / SA Information /


















Site Ver 2010/01/15



About South Africa



The Republic of South Africa is a country located at the southern tip of Africa. It borders the Atlantic and Indian oceans and Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Swaziland, and Lesotho, an independent enclave surrounded by South African territory. South Africa is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. The South African economy is the largest in Africa and 24th largest in the world. Due to this it is the most socially, economically and infrastructurally developed country on the continent.

South Africa



South Africa has experienced a different history from other nations in Africa because of early immigration from Europe and the strategic importance of the Cape Sea Route. European immigration began shortly after the Dutch East India Company founded a station at what would become Cape Town, in 1652. The closure of the Suez Canal during the Six-Day War highlighted its significance to East-West trade. The country's relatively developed infrastructure made its mineral wealth available and important to Western interests, particularly throughout the late nineteenth century and, with international competition and rivalry, during the Cold War. South Africa is ethnically diverse, with the largest Caucasian, Indian, and racially mixed communities in Africa

 - Total 1,221,037 km˛ (25th) or 471,443 sq mi 
 - Water (%) Negligible
 - 2007 (mid-year) estimate 47.9 million (25th)
 - 2001 census 44,819,278
 - Density 39/km˛ (136th) or 101/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2007 estimate
 - Total $587.5 billion ▲ (18th)
 - Per capita $13,300 ▲ (56th)
 - South African rand (ZAR)
Time zone
 - SAST (UTC+2)



About Limpopo province




Limpopo Province shares international borders with districts and provinces of three countries: Botswana's Central and Kgatleng districts to the west and north-west respectively, Zimbabwe's Matabeleland South and Masvingo provinces to the north and northeast respectively, and Mozambique's Gaza Province to the east. The province is the link between South Africa and countries further afield in sub-Saharan Africa. On its southern flank from east to west, the province shares borders with Mpumalanga, Gauteng, and North West. Its border with Gauteng includes that province's Johannesburg-Pretoria axis, the most industrious metropole on the continent. Thus the province is placed at the centre of regional, national, and international developing markets.

The province has excellent road, rail, and air links. The N1 route from Johannesburg, which extends the length of the province, is the busiest overland route in Africa in terms of cross-border trade in raw materials and beneficiated goods. The port of Durban, Africa’s busiest, is served directly by the province, as are the ports of Richards Bay and Maputo. The Gateway International Airport is situated in Polokwane, the capital of the province.

The province contains much of the Waterberg Biosphere, a UNESCO designated Biosphere Reserve. The Waterberg Biosphere, a massif of approximately 15,000 square kilometers, is the first region in the northern part of South Africa to be named as a Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO. The massif was shaped by hundreds of millions of years of riverine erosion to yield diverse bluff and butte landform.[1] The Waterberg ecosystem can be characterised as a dry deciduous forest or Bushveld. Within the Waterberg there are archaeological finds dating to the Stone Age, and nearby are early evolutionary finds related to the origin of humans

Limpopo Province






This site is best viewed with IE6, Firefox 3 or later at 1024x768. Matlabas Safaris connot guarantee the accuracy of information on this site.
All information on this site is (c) Copyright Matlabas Safaris 2007, 2008, 2009


Site designed & maintained by Ryanz